О месте

О месте

Большая Хоральная Синагога

В начале девятнадцатого столетия еврейская община в Санкт-Петербурге значительно возросла, нужно было возвести храм, способный полностью удовлетворить религиозные нужды десяти тысяч человек. Деньги на строительство собирались всей общиной, но главным финансистом выступил барон Гинсбург — глава еврейской общины тех времен. В составлении архитектурного проекта участвовал сам Николай Бенуа. Здание выполнено в неомавританском стиле, довольно редком для Петербурга.

Строительство было завершено в 1893 году. Однако советская власть держала общину под строгим контролем. Сначала были закрыты все молельни в городе, а в 1930 году, согласно постановлению Президиума Ленсовета, закрыли и Большую Синагогу. Через семь месяцев запрет был снят, и храм снова начал функционировать.

Перед Олимпийскими играми 1980 гола Большая Хоральная Синагога попала в список основных экскурсионных объектов, для этого за два года до начала игр правительство выделило финансы на реставрацию здания.

На базе Синагоги проводится ряд культурных и образовательных мероприятий, о которых можно подробнее прочитать на официальном сайте. Вход представителям другой веры не возбраняется, но с правилами поведения на территории храма ознакомиться стоит.

В начале девятнадцатого столетия еврейская община в Санкт-Петербурге значительно возросла, нужно было возвести храм, способный полностью удовлетворить религиозные нужды десяти тысяч человек. Деньги на строительство собирались всей общиной, но главным финансистом выступил барон Гинсбург — глава еврейской общины тех времен. В составлении архитектурного проекта участвовал сам Николай Бенуа. Здание выполнено в неомавританском стиле, довольно редком для Петербурга.

Строительство было завершено в 1893 году. Однако советская власть держала общину под строгим контролем. Сначала были закрыты все молельни в городе, а в 1930 году, согласно постановлению Президиума Ленсовета, закрыли и Большую Синагогу. Через семь месяцев запрет был снят, и храм снова начал функционировать.

Перед Олимпийскими играми 1980 гола Большая Хоральная Синагога попала в список основных экскурсионных объектов, для этого за два года до начала игр правительство выделило финансы на реставрацию здания.

На базе Синагоги проводится ряд культурных и образовательных мероприятий, о которых можно подробнее прочитать на официальном сайте. Вход представителям другой веры не возбраняется, но с правилами поведения на территории храма ознакомиться стоит.

В начале девятнадцатого столетия еврейская община в Санкт-Петербурге значительно возросла, нужно было возвести храм, способный полностью удовлетворить религиозные нужды десяти тысяч человек. Деньги на строительство собирались всей общиной, но главным финансистом выступил барон Гинсбург — глава еврейской общины тех времен. В составлении архитектурного проекта участвовал сам Николай Бенуа. Здание выполнено в неомавританском стиле, довольно редком для Петербурга.

Строительство было завершено в 1893 году. Однако советская власть держала общину под строгим контролем. Сначала были закрыты все молельни в городе, а в 1930 году, согласно постановлению Президиума Ленсовета, закрыли и Большую Синагогу. Через семь месяцев запрет был снят, и храм снова начал функционировать.

Перед Олимпийскими играми 1980 гола Большая Хоральная Синагога попала в список основных экскурсионных объектов, для этого за два года до начала игр правительство выделило финансы на реставрацию здания.

На базе Синагоги проводится ряд культурных и образовательных мероприятий, о которых можно подробнее прочитать на официальном сайте. Вход представителям другой веры не возбраняется, но с правилами поведения на территории храма ознакомиться стоит.

Адрес

просп. Лермонтовский, 2

Телефон

+7 812 713-81-86

Сайт

Большая Хоральная Синагога

Источник

https://kudago.com/spb/place/bolshaya-horalnaya-sinagoga/

Карта

Экскурсии

Place Details

Place Details

Great Choral Synagogue

At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the Jewish community in St. Petersburg grew significantly, and it was necessary to build a temple that could fully satisfy the religious needs of ten thousand people. The whole community collected money for the construction, but the main financier was Baron Ginsburg, the head of the Jewish community of those times. Nikolai Benois himself participated in the design of the architectural project. The building is made in the neo-Moorish style, quite rare for St. Petersburg.

The construction was completed in 1893. However, the Soviet government kept the community under strict control. First, all the chapels in the city were closed, and in 1930, according to the decision of the Presidium of the Leningrad City Council, the Great Synagogue was closed. After seven months, the ban was lifted, and the temple began to function again.

Before the 1980 Olympic Games, the Great Choral Synagogue was included in the list of major sightseeing sites, for this purpose, two years before the start of the Games, the government allocated funds for the restoration of the building.

A number of cultural and educational events are held on the basis of the Synagogue, which you can read more about on the official website. Representatives of other faiths are not prohibited from entering, but it is worth familiarizing yourself with the rules of conduct on the temple grounds.

At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the Jewish community in St. Petersburg grew significantly, and it was necessary to build a temple that could fully satisfy the religious needs of ten thousand people. The whole community collected money for the construction, but the main financier was Baron Ginsburg, the head of the Jewish community of those times. Nikolai Benois himself participated in the design of the architectural project. The building is made in the neo-Moorish style, quite rare for St. Petersburg.

The construction was completed in 1893. However, the Soviet government kept the community under strict control. First, all the chapels in the city were closed, and in 1930, according to the decision of the Presidium of the Leningrad City Council, the Great Synagogue was closed. After seven months, the ban was lifted, and the temple began to function again.

Before the 1980 Olympic Games, the Great Choral Synagogue was included in the list of major sightseeing sites, for this purpose, two years before the start of the Games, the government allocated funds for the restoration of the building.

A number of cultural and educational events are held on the basis of the Synagogue, which you can read more about on the official website. Representatives of other faiths are not prohibited from entering, but it is worth familiarizing yourself with the rules of conduct on the temple grounds.

At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the Jewish community in St. Petersburg grew significantly, and it was necessary to build a temple that could fully satisfy the religious needs of ten thousand people. The whole community collected money for the construction, but the main financier was Baron Ginsburg, the head of the Jewish community of those times. Nikolai Benois himself participated in the design of the architectural project. The building is made in the neo-Moorish style, quite rare for St. Petersburg.

The construction was completed in 1893. However, the Soviet government kept the community under strict control. First, all the chapels in the city were closed, and in 1930, according to the decision of the Presidium of the Leningrad City Council, the Great Synagogue was closed. After seven months, the ban was lifted, and the temple began to function again.

Before the 1980 Olympic Games, the Great Choral Synagogue was included in the list of major sightseeing sites, for this purpose, two years before the start of the Games, the government allocated funds for the restoration of the building.

A number of cultural and educational events are held on the basis of the Synagogue, which you can read more about on the official website. Representatives of other faiths are not prohibited from entering, but it is worth familiarizing yourself with the rules of conduct on the temple grounds.

Address

prosp. Lermontovsky, 2

Phone

+7 812 713-81-86

Website

http://www.jeps.ru/

Source

https://kudago.com/spb/place/bolshaya-horalnaya-sinagoga/

Map

Сity tours