О месте

О месте

Храм Великомученицы Варвары на Варварке

Улица Варварка получила имя в честь старинной церкви великомученицы Варвары. У этой святой была необыкновенная жизнь: единственная дочь богатого финикийца, она отвергала все предложения женихов и вопреки языческим убеждениям своей семьи приняла христианство, чем всех очень разгневала. Самые жестокие пытки не испугали её, после чего её казнил собственный отец. Тогда Варвара и получила в христианстве свой титул великомученицы, а её храм на Варварке особо почитается москвичами.

Первое здание церкви было построено ещё в XIV веке под руководством итальянского мастера Алевиза Нового. Нынешняя постройка принадлежит московскому архитектору Родиону Казакову. Новое здание появилось в конце XVIII века. Оно пережило войны и революции и несколько раз реставрировалось. В 2014-2015 годах в результате реставрации храм вернулся к своему первоначальному облику.

Улица Варварка получила имя в честь старинной церкви великомученицы Варвары. У этой святой была необыкновенная жизнь: единственная дочь богатого финикийца, она отвергала все предложения женихов и вопреки языческим убеждениям своей семьи приняла христианство, чем всех очень разгневала. Самые жестокие пытки не испугали её, после чего её казнил собственный отец. Тогда Варвара и получила в христианстве свой титул великомученицы, а её храм на Варварке особо почитается москвичами.

Первое здание церкви было построено ещё в XIV веке под руководством итальянского мастера Алевиза Нового. Нынешняя постройка принадлежит московскому архитектору Родиону Казакову. Новое здание появилось в конце XVIII века. Оно пережило войны и революции и несколько раз реставрировалось. В 2014-2015 годах в результате реставрации храм вернулся к своему первоначальному облику.

Улица Варварка получила имя в честь старинной церкви великомученицы Варвары. У этой святой была необыкновенная жизнь: единственная дочь богатого финикийца, она отвергала все предложения женихов и вопреки языческим убеждениям своей семьи приняла христианство, чем всех очень разгневала. Самые жестокие пытки не испугали её, после чего её казнил собственный отец. Тогда Варвара и получила в христианстве свой титул великомученицы, а её храм на Варварке особо почитается москвичами.

Первое здание церкви было построено ещё в XIV веке под руководством итальянского мастера Алевиза Нового. Нынешняя постройка принадлежит московскому архитектору Родиону Казакову. Новое здание появилось в конце XVIII века. Оно пережило войны и революции и несколько раз реставрировалось. В 2014-2015 годах в результате реставрации храм вернулся к своему первоначальному облику.

Адрес

ул. Варварка, д. 2

Часы работы

ежедневно 8:00–19:00

Сайт

Храм Великомученицы Варвары на Варварке

Источник

https://kudago.com/msk/place/varvary-na-varvarke/

Карта

Экскурсии

Place Details

Place Details

Church of the Great Martyr Barbara on Varvarka

Varvarka Street was named after the ancient church of the Great Martyr Barbara. This saint had an extraordinary life: the only daughter of a wealthy Phoenician, she rejected all the proposals of the grooms and, contrary to the pagan beliefs of her family, converted to Christianity, which was very angered me. The most brutal torture did not frighten her, after which she was executed by her own father. Then Varvara received her title of Great Martyr in Christianity, and her church on Varvarka is especially revered by Muscovites.

The first building of the church was built in the 14th century under the direction of Italian master Aleviz Novy. The current building belongs to Moscow architect Rodion Kazakov. The new building appeared at the end of the 18th century. It has survived wars and revolutions and has been restored several times. In 2014-2015, as a result of restoration, the temple returned to its original appearance.

Varvarka Street was named after the ancient church of the Great Martyr Barbara. This saint had an extraordinary life: the only daughter of a wealthy Phoenician, she rejected all the proposals of the grooms and, contrary to the pagan beliefs of her family, converted to Christianity, which was very angered me. The most brutal torture did not frighten her, after which she was executed by her own father. Then Varvara received her title of Great Martyr in Christianity, and her church on Varvarka is especially revered by Muscovites.

The first building of the church was built in the 14th century under the direction of Italian master Aleviz Novy. The current building belongs to Moscow architect Rodion Kazakov. The new building appeared at the end of the 18th century. It has survived wars and revolutions and has been restored several times. In 2014-2015, as a result of restoration, the temple returned to its original appearance.

Varvarka Street was named after the ancient church of the Great Martyr Barbara. This saint had an extraordinary life: the only daughter of a wealthy Phoenician, she rejected all the proposals of the grooms and, contrary to the pagan beliefs of her family, converted to Christianity, which was very angered me. The most brutal torture did not frighten her, after which she was executed by her own father. Then Varvara received her title of Great Martyr in Christianity, and her church on Varvarka is especially revered by Muscovites.

The first building of the church was built in the 14th century under the direction of Italian master Aleviz Novy. The current building belongs to Moscow architect Rodion Kazakov. The new building appeared at the end of the 18th century. It has survived wars and revolutions and has been restored several times. In 2014-2015, as a result of restoration, the temple returned to its original appearance.

Address

st. Varvarka 2

Timetable

daily 8:00am — 7:00pm

Source

https://kudago.com/msk/place/varvary-na-varvarke/

Map

Checkout airplane tickets

Сity tours